Random acts of kindness

Today, I was on the receiving end of a random act of kindness. It hadn’t been designed as such, it just was that. And with all the anger and fear and unhappiness in the world right now, it has felt like a hug right around my heart.

It started raining when we were on the way to the bus stop in town, and by the time we got there it was pouring. There is never any space for a wheelchair under the bus stops (WHY?) so I had wrapped my cardigan around Little Crafter and was trying not to shiver, when a woman came up to me and asked if I was okay, and would we like an umbrella. Thinking she had just meant to share with her until the bus, I said yes please. But then she handed it to Little Crafter to hold and went to get her bus. As it was she couldn’t get on, so we ended up on the same bus. Not only did she tell me to keep the umbrella to get me home but she gave me her jumper to wear on the bus to warm up.

I probably sounded like a babbling baboon  thanking her multiple times, but especially in days where the world seems frustratingly dark, an act of kindness makes so much difference. As it is, on a personal level, I had been in an awful mood, in huge amounts of pain and feeling very low. So to be treated so nicely, made all the more touching by her attitude of it not being an issue at all, has made me sure I can keep smiling for another day.

So, whilst I try my best to be kind anyway (unless someone is a twat, of course), this has reminded me that things can make people’s days much brighter with a literal – or figurative – umbrella.

Pass it on.

Leave a Reply

