Chronic Migraine

One of the most debilitating conditions I suffer from in my ever increasing list is chronic migraine. And by chronic, I mean constant. Constant. It never goes away. Some medications help muffle it a bit, but it is always there.

I’ve suffered with migraines since I was a child, although they weren’t recognized as such until I was in my teens. To complicate the matter I have several strands of different migraines, all of which function in different ways, and are triggered by different things. Sounds fun, right?

Let’s clear something up. Migraines and headaches are not the same thing, and it drives me absolutely potty when the words are used interchangeably. Headaches – somewhat annoying, a bit painful, can range up to needing to lie down. Headaches are frustrating for sure, and certainly not something I’d wish on anyone, as there’s nothing worse than head pain, seeing as there is not real way to rest your head.

Migraines, however, are so much more than a headache.

The first sign of a flare I get is my neck. My neck clicks frequently, but when I’ve got a migraine starting it feels just like it needs to click…. Except no amount of clicking stops it hurting. Then the drilling starts. By drilling, I mean the pain in the center of my head that feels like the vibration and pain of what, after all these years, I’m bloody certain a drill going into the middle of your head would feel like. Then the blur comes across my eyes, like everything is misty. The nausea, so strong I’m sure I’m going to vomit, and have done in the past. The weakness and dizziness to the point of clutching walls and trying not to faint, which again, I have. The light sensitivity, unable to tolerate anything, clutching glasses to your face. Lack of appetite. Irritability. Brain Fog. Confusion. Lights in the sky. The throbbing in your head so hard you’re sure you’re visibly pounding. The electrical currents shooting through. The metal fuzzy feeling on both sides. My eyes so painful I wish I could take them out and put them in ice water. Six ice packs not being enough. The waves of pain. The trembling. Wanting to remove your head to clear out the painful fuzz. Not knowing how much longer you can take.

I could go on. The fact is, migraines impact almost every area of the body. I could cry just describing it. If someone tells you that they suffer with migraines, don’t think they’re making a fuss about a bit of a headache.

Leave a Reply

